Supporters Cup semi-final

Sully Sports 2

Barry Athletic 3 (AET)

AT THE THIRD time of asking, due to two waterlogged postponements, Barry Athletic finished this epic battle the stronger to reach the final of the Supporters Cup.

Sully started the game quickly and found themselves with an early fifth minute lead when a long free kick was sent into the Athletic penalty area.

A Sully player met the ball first and nodded over the Athletic keeper.

It wasn't until the 41st minute that Athletic levelled.

Linford Harris weaved his way through the Sully defence only to be tripped by the Sully keeper.

Referee Chris Bowsher immediately awarded a penalty and a yellow card.

Captain Spencer Price stepped up and gave the Sully keeper no chance from the spot kick.

In the second half it was Sully who went ahead again when a long clearance from their own box found their goalscorer after a huge bounce caught out the Athletic defence.

Athletic managers Jeff Howells and Matthew Venton reshuffled the pack with time running out knowing that they needed something special to reach the final.

A well deserved equaliser came in the 82nd minute when Ryan Hales was brought down just outside the box.

Hales floated the resulting free kick over everybody knowing centre back Lewis Marsh was in acres of space.

Marsh delivered with a superb half volley into the roof of the net to send the game into extra time.

After a goalless first half Athletic were growing in confidence and Sully were tiring.

It was superb work from Ady Gratton, winning the ball in midfield and driving into the Sully defence before switching play to release Hales out wide.

Hales' first time ball into the six yard box was met by striker Dan Morgan who calmly finished to send the Athletic into the final.

The final will be played at Jenner Park on Sunday, April 23 against SP Billy. Kick-off is 2.15pm and entrance is £1.

Barry Athletic: Chris Simpson, Billy Gratton, Lewis Marsh, Ady Gratton, Mark Kingdon, Ben Graham, Izaac Farrag, Spencer Price (C), Ben Pearce, Linford Harris, Ryan Hales, Dan Morgan, Anton Williams.