WALES are still hunting the first points of the Warren Abrahams era after a second successive Six Nations drubbing.

The week after being hammered 53-0 by France in Vannes, Wales endured a crushing 45-0 defeat to Ireland at Cardiff Arms Park.

The loss, which highlights the lack of funding and backing for the Welsh women's game, condemns them to third in Pool B of the championship and a clash with either Italy or Scotland on finals day.

There was no shortage of effort but Wales, who propped up the table, were comprehensively beaten.

Abrahams' side were up against it from the off against Ireland, with Eimear Considine and Beibhinn Parsons notching two tries apiece to wrap up the bonus point inside 20 minutes.

Wales did improve after Sene Naoupu had crossed for a fifth try before half-time, but further scores from Dorothy Wall and Hannah Tyrrell in the second period added gloss to the scoreline for the visitors.

"We didn't start with the right intent and that set the tone for the game," lamented Wales captain Siwan Lillicrap.

"We were a little better in the second half, but we just weren't good enough overall and that's the reality.

"We've got to make our one-on-one shots – that's non-negotiable. We weren't good enough at the scrum and lineout either and that's something we've got to look at.

"But there's no finger pointing. We've all got to reflect on our performances – maybe I didn't bring enough to the table. The main thing is that we learn lessons.

"We've got to try and make sure our heads don't drop. It's emotional now but it's important we reflect, put in the hard work and finish on a high on finals day."

Wales: Robyn Wilkins (Gloucester-Hartpury); Lisa Neumann (Sale Sharks), Hannah Jones (Gloucester-Hartpury), Kerin Lake (Gloucester-Hartpury), Courtney Keight (Bristol Bears); Elinor Snowsill (Bristol Bears), Jess Roberts (Sale Sharks); Cara Hope (Gloucester-Hartpury), Kelsey Jones (Gloucester-Hartpury), Cerys Hale (Gloucester-Hartpury), Natalia John (Bristol Bears), Gwen Crabb (Gloucester-Hartpury), Georgia Evans (Saracens), Manon Johnes (Bristol Bears), Siwan Lillicrap (capt, Bristol Bears).

Replacements: Molly Kelly (Sale Sharks), Caryl Thomas (Worcester Warriors), Donna Rose (Saracens), Teleri Wyn Davies (Sale Sharks), Bethan Dainton (Harlequins), Megan Davies (Exeter Chiefs), Niamh Terry (Exeter Chiefs), Caitlin Lewis (Cardiff Met).

Ireland: Eimear Considine (Munster); Lauren Delany (Sale Sharks), Eve Higgins (Leinster), Sene Naoupu (Leinster), Beibhinn Parsons (Connacht); Hannah Tyrrell (Leinster), Kathryn Dane (Ulster); Lindsay Peat (Leinster), Cliodhna Moloney (Wasps), Linda Djougang (Leinster), Aoife McDermott (Leinster), Nichola Fryday (Connacht), Dorothy Wall (Munster), Claire Molloy (Wasps), Ciara Griffin (Munster).

Replacements: Neve Jones (Ulster), Katie O'Dwyer (Leinster), Laura Feely (Connacht), Brittany Hogan (Ulster), Hannah O'Connor (Leinster), Emily Lane (Munster), Stacey Flood (Leinster), Enya Breen (Munster).

Referee: Hollie Davidson (SRU).