THE 50th Year Anniversary Cup is one of the sought-after trophies in the golfing calendar at Wenvoe Castle.

The competition always attracts a large entry and this year was no exception.

The demanding format is a fourball better ball medal competition and with both men and ladies are eligible to compete year after year there is always a close finish.

The top score of net 63 was posted by three pairs and count back over the last nine holes was used to separate them with Daniel Farmer and Andrew Tailby clinching the trophy by the narrowest of margins. Runners up were Craig Chalmers and Ryan Cox just holding off Paul McCarthy and Alex Morgan.

Blair Drummond was delighted to score a hole in one on the par 3 second hole and was roundly cheered by all the members standing close to the bar helping him to celebrate his achievement.

The following day, a Sunday, was equally busy with the men competing for two honours board competitions.

The LG Fellows and Viv Jones Tankards are for 0-12 and 13-54 handicap groups and again a challenging medal competition and players also had to contend with significant rain during the day.

Despite the wet conditions an excellent gross 70 saw Keith Stimpson take the first prize with a net 67 in the lower handicap category.

Keith’s superb round included 4 birdies, 12 pars and dropping just a single stroke on the other two holes.

Howard Norman followed him home with a 78 net 67 just ahead of the consistent Kevin Knowles who posted a 77 net 70.

In the higher handicap group, the winner was Chris Chalmers with an 89 net 71 and Richard Marden just missed out as runner up with 85 net 72. Gerry Carter took third place with 92 net 74.

The Ladies took part in a Back 9-hole qualifier and Mags Lewis posted to score of 16 points ahead of Jackie Jones with 15 points.

The Men’s Seniors stableford competition was held the following day and John Dudley played well to win with 38 points with Phil Walker second on 36 points.

The busy fixture list continued last Thursday evening with the Trott Run, a stableford played in memory of former club captain Bryn Trott, and Mike Davies took the trophy with 33 points just one point ahead of Dave Iles with 32 points.

Friday saw the Ladies competing in the Wales Golf Centenary Greensomes 2019 and the winners were Sian Smith and Sue Dayananda who scored 33 points beating Karen Ball and Wendy Motton by the narrowest of margins on count back.

The winners go on to represent the club at the regional finals to be held at Morlais Castle in September.

On Saturday the Men and Ladies competed in separate Medal competitions and Dan Williams, maintaining a rich vein of form, followed up his success on Captains Day to record a magnificent net 67.

The Ladies competed for the Ladies Committee Cup/GUW Medal and Sian Smith once again played very well to win by a comfortable margin with a net 72 ahead of runner up Mags Lewis who posted a net 76.

Sunday afternoon was another opportunity for gold leaf on the honours board with the Morgan Williams Bowl Mixed Competition.

Jeff and Lynda Hudd certainly enjoy these competitions and, remarkably, posted the same score of 37 points which proved to be enough to win on the day and add to the Bowen Greenwood Trophy won earlier in the year with the same score.

Martin and Mags Lewis just missed out on countback over the final three holes.

Presenting the prizes club captain Lesley Sherrard thanked all the members for taking part and complimented the green staff for superb condition of the course maintained through a very busy and demanding period.