THE 50th Year Anniversary Cup is one of the sought-after trophies in the golfing calendar at Wenvoe Castle.

The competition now in its 33 year since being first played in 1986 always attracts a large entry and this year was no exception.

The demanding format is a fourball better ball medal competition and with both men and ladies are eligible to compete year after year there is always a close finish.

The top score of net 63 was posted by three pairs and count back over the last nine holes was used to separate them with David Farmer and Andrew Tailby clinching the trophy by the narrowest of margins. Runners up were Craig Chalmers and Ryan Cox just holding off Paul McCarthy and Alex Morgan.

Blair Drummond was delighted to score a hole in one on the par 3 second hole and was roundly cheered by all the members standing close to the bar helping him to celebrate his achievement.

Sunday was an equally busy day with the men competing for two honours board competitions.

The LG Fellows and Viv Jones Tankards are for 0-12 and 13-54 handicap groups and again a challenging medal competition and players also had to contend with significant rain during the day.

Despite the wet conditions an excellent gross 70 saw Keith Stimpson take the first prize with a net 67 in the lower handicap category. Keith’s superb round included 4 birdies, 12 pars and dropping just a single stroke on the other two holes.

Howard Norman followed him home with a 78 net 67 just ahead of the consistent Kevin Knowles who posted a 77 net 70.

In the higher handicap group, the winner was Chris Chalmers with an 89 net 71 and Richard Marden just missed out as runner up with 85 net 72. Gerry Carter took third place with 92 net 74.

The Ladies took part in a Back 9-hole qualifier and Mags Lewis posted to score of 16 points ahead of Jackie Jones with 15 points.

The Men’s Seniors stableford competition was held the following day and John Dudley played well to win with 38 points with Phil Walker second on 36 points.