PRESENTATION Night is always a very special occasion at Wenvoe Castle Golf Club where members and friends assemble to congratulate the winners of a variety of major club competitions.

Some competitions were settled in a single day but several knock out competitions lasted over several rounds throughout the summer months and by Finals Day in September the winners had certainly earned their rewards particularly having their names engraved in gold leaf on the honours boards.

The glittering display of silverware spread right across the stage of the Castle Suite and club president Colin Champ took some time in getting through the winners of 40 trophies for the various Men’s, Ladies and Mixed Competitions.

Matt Mullooly was roundly applauded for winning the Club Championship for the third time in a row and he generously praised the runner up Terry O’Grady who keenly contested the denuding 36-hole final.

Club captain Mike Chick, who refereed the final gave a review the excellent match full of exceptional golf but played in very sporting and friendly spirit despite the obvious pressures on the day.

Sian Smith was delighted to be crowned Ladies Champion and having only recently joined the club took time to pay tribute to the members of the club, particularly the Ladies Section, for the way she had been made very welcome at the club.

Sian particularly thanked the runner up Lucy Sellick for a highly competitive match but again played in a great sporting manner.

Captain Mike rounded off the evening by thanking all the members who had entered and supported the competitions throughout the year and paid tribute to the efforts of the green staff who presented the course in such fine condition throughout the summer months.

He also thanked the club president for his usual skill and stamina in getting through the presentation of the trophies and the contribution of the bar and catering staff for the excellent service on the evening.

Special mention was made to the club professional and club secretary for their usual efficient administration of the competitions in what has been another highly successful and enjoyable golfing season.

Finally, special mention was given to two club members who won major honours during the summer. Nick James was crowned Glamorgan Champion at Southerndown Golf Club and Keith Stimpson took the honours in becoming Glamorgan Seniors Champion at Swansea Bay Golf Club.

A full list of the competitions together with the winners were:

Club Championships

Club Champion Matthew Mullooly

Runner-up Terry O’Grady

Lady Champion Sian Smith

Runner-up Lucy Sellick

Ladies Competitions

M Moss Memorial Shield Susan Jones

Thompson Salver Barbara Beedham

Committee Cup Barbara Beedham

Seniors Cup Judy Green

White Cup Foursomes Sue Dayananda and Jane Lott

Mary Fellows Bowl Sheila Morrow

Bronze Division Champion Dee Lloyd

Handicap Oscar Susan Jones

Coronation Cup Karen Ball

Laurie Jones Shield Sian Smith and Sue Dayananda

Gentlemen’s Competitions

Committee Cup Gary Forster and Robin White

LG Fellows Tankard Terry Hewitt

Palmer Cup Alun Wheatley

Autumn Tankards Dave Farmer and Dan Williams

Dai David Putter Ryan Cox

Viv Jones Tankard Craig Balchin

Celnik Cup Andrew Tailby

Captains Shield Rob Gillard

Coronation Cup John Peters

Renwick Seniors Trophy Gary Butt

Robert Rickards Cup Andrew Evans

H Regan Foursomes Dennis Davies and Rob Gillard

Hales Cup Keith Stimpson

Dragon Trophy Alex Finlay

Mixed Competitions

Vaughan Thompson Huw and Jayne Smith

Morgan Williams Bowl Nicola Manning and Simon Gatheridge

Cupid Cup Huw and Jayne Smith

Ashton Trophy Sue Dayananda and Cliff White

Whiteflower Cup Fran and Alan Grant

H Broadbent Trophy Karen Ball and Cliff White

Bowen Greenwood Linda and Tom Marples

Dr & Mrs A M Jones Trophy Lynda and Rob Campbell

Presidents Bowl Andrew Canning

50th Year Cup Nick Caulfield and Jim Hegarty

75th Anniversary Cup Gary Butt and Alun Wheatley