BARRY Amateur Swimming Club has hosted it's 92nd annual general meeting (AGM), with a presentation to celebrate the club's finest achievers at the championship competitions late last year.

The event took place at St Andrew's Golf Club in Barry on Saturday, January 20, opening with a special welcome for lifelong members Mike Looker, Elaine Romain and Martyn Harris.

Club captains for the 2018 season were announced, with the club's increased membership over the past 12 months meaning that both a male and female captain were elected for the first time since the 2015 season. Bethan Williams retained her post as women's captain, while Iestyn Perkins was also appointed to represent the males. Vice-captains Pia Sully and Nia Fuller will also take up their new roles this season.

Special awards were also announced for last season's performances. These included the best runner-up trophy, awarded to the best performer from the club's annual championships who didn't manage to secure a winner's medal. These were awarded to Louis Peake for the boys, with Nia Fuller and Rhian Jones sharing the girls trophy.

The best newcomer awards went to Tegan Gregory and Sebastian Fidler, while best novice was won by Daisy Griffiths and Jacob Lee. Most improved swimmer was presented to Pia Sully and the loyalty cup – awarded for those who have given a lot of time and effort into supporting the club over the past 12 months, went to Rhian Jones.

The club member of the year shield went to new membership secretary, Susan Borges, in the female category, while Mark Borges took the men's award for his coaching work with the younger swimmers.

The club wishes to thank all those who supported the evening.