THE 6TH ANNUAL AGM of Cardiff and the Vale Ladies Past Captains Golf Society was hosted by Brynhill Golf Club.

In the morning, 56 members played 18 holes of golf, 20 played bridge and a total of 58 assembled for lunch.

The weather was glorious, so the scores were good. A total of 13 clubs were represented and the winner was Jenny Pryce (Creigiau) with 38pts; 2nd Mary Blackwell (Dinas Powys) 37pts; 3rd Rosemary Goldsmith (Brynhill) 36pts.

The Veterans Trophy was won by Shirley O'Donovan (Brynhill); nearest the Pin Jayne Pugh (Llanishen); and Sheila Williams (Brynhill) had the only 2 of the day.

The 2005 team event was won by Brynhill, with the best aggregate total from the combined spring and autumn meetings and was represented by Rosemary Goldsmith, Pat Cogbill, Hilary West and Shirley O'Donovan,

The bridge tournament winning pair were Beth Forbes (Creigiau) and Barbara Burden (Dinas Powys).

After an excellent lunch, the society captain Ann Hogarth (Creigiau) opened the meetings and welcomed Anne Baxter, Brynhill Ladies' captain, as honoured guest. Thanks were given to Brynhill Golf Club for welcoming the society to the club, to all the many Brynhill past captains for their help and generosity and to all who supported the raffle, which raised 176 for the Glamorgan County Juniors Golf Fund.

The greens' staff, led by Ian Grant, were praised for the extremely good condition of the course and Glyn Niblett, Brynhill's 19th hole caterer, was thanked for the excellent lunch.

Mrs Hogarth presented Betty Simpson (Radyr) with her badge of office and, together with honorary secretary Wendy Motton (Wenvoe), vice captain Joan Collinge (Radyr) and honorary treasurer Christine Lewis (Glamorgan), was wished a happy and successful year.