THE winner of the Vale of Glamorgan seat in the 2021 Senedd election is Jane Hutt.

Jane Hutt, of Welsh Labour, won with 43.52 per cent of counted votes in the Vale and will now continue to represent the constituency at the Senedd, as she has done since the Welsh Parliament was formed in 1999.

The turnout for the Vale of Glamorgan in the Senedd election has been at its highest since the Senedd was formed in 1999 – 43,090 people in the Vale voted equating to 54.11 per cent turnout.

Comparatively, in 2016, which was the previously highest turnout for the Vale there were 37,932 votes equating to 53.1 per cent turnout.

Ms Hutt gave thanks to the staff across Wales who've helped with the election and continued: "I'd like to thank everyone who's made this such an important and obviously well contested election.

"Thank you to all the candidates who played their part.

"It has shown such commitment to the citizens of the Vale of Glamorgan to engage, discuss, and consider who they want to represent them in the Vale of Glamorgan."

She also thanked her team and 'wonderful' agents who have 'worked so hard' and to supporters of Welsh Labour during a 'challenging' campaign.

Ms Hutt added: "Thank you so much for your trust in me and of course the First Minister Mark Drakeford who's led Welsh Labour through this campaign.

"He has spoken so importantly about trust. Trust and ambition.

"That's what we have been talking about to people in our communities: supporting our businesses, supporting our communities, supporting the most vulnerable people living in the Vale... you are my constituents; I am here to serve you.

"We will move forward together for a fairer, greener, more sustainable recovery and move Wales forward."

Celebrating the result, one of Ms Hutt's agents - Conway Hawkins - said: "We're over the moon with this result.

"It reflects the hard work that Jane puts into the community. I'm sure that, when we can, we will have a party to celebrate."

The full results are:

Janet Brocklehurst (Propel: Wales Needs Champions): 426

Alan Coulthard (independent): 237

Stuart Field (Abolish the Welsh Assembly): 1,394

Richard Grigg (Plaid Cymru): 3,699

Michael Hancock (Reform UK): 416

Jane Hutt (Welsh Labour): 18,667

Karl-James Langford (Gwlad - The Welsh Independence Party): 174

Neill Shah (Freedom Alliance. No Lockdowns. No Curfews): 226

Anthony Slaughter (Green): 1262

Matt Smith (Conservative): 15,397

Sally Stephenson (Liberal Democrats): 994

Doubtful: 198

Total: 43,090

The regional count for Vale of Glamorgan will be carried out tomorrow (Saturday May 8) and the count for Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) will take place on Sunday (May 9).