PUPILS at St Richard Gwyn RC school, Barry, achieved a further year of notable GCSE performances.

Significant improvements saw the proportion of pupils achieving 5A* to A rising with 32 per cent of the year group achieving this measure.

Nearly 70 per cent of pupils achieved a C or better in mathematics and 82 per cent achieved a C or better in English with more than 30 per cent achieving either an A* or A in both subjects.

There numerous outstanding performances

Rhian Cambronero and Joe Osborne, both achieved 13A*s; Caitlin Williams 11A*s and 2As; Jay Yip 8A*s, 4As and 1C; Luis Ammuyutan 8A*s and 4As; Iona Scott 8A*s and 4As; Anna Jolly 6A*s, 3As and 3Bs; Rachel Kong 5A*s, 6As and 1B; Leoni Hicks 5A*s, 5As and 2Bs; Georgin Saju 5A*s, 3As, 3Bs and 1C; James Roberts 5A*s, 4As, 2Bs and 1C; and Megan Hill 5A*s, 6As and 2Bs.

St Richard Gwyn head teacher, Steven Grech said: “All of our students should feel proud of their achievements.

“They have secured a better future for themselves and we congratulate them as they have been an incredible year group in so many different ways.”

“We are very proud of all of our students, not just those who achieved the highest grades but also those who worked exceptionally hard to make significant progress.”

Significant progress has been made by Oliver Kingdon, Ross Neale, Logan Stringer, Sian Lane, Kabelo Totwe, Hannah Currie, Alexsander Barczewski, and Jessica McGivern.

Mr Grech added: “This year we have seen a consistent high level of performance in nearly all areas with significant improvements in the new Capped 9 Score reaching 410 points and the number of A* and As.

“I am very proud of the progress that has been made and I would like to thank all staff who have supported our students tirelessly during their studies.

“Particular thanks to Mr Perret, who as Year 11 progress leader, encouraged, motivated and led the group to some great achievements.

“I would also like to thank our families for their unstinting support over the past five years and on behalf of everyone at the school we wish all our students a happy and successful future.”