THE Vale council has announced its new cabinet following its annual general meeting on Monday, May 20.

Cadoc ward councillor Neil Moore has been appointed as the leader following a full council vote in the Civic Offices chamber, in Barry.

Deputy leader and cabinet member for education and regeneration is Cllr Lis Burnett; cabinet member for housing and building services is Cllr Margret Wilkinson; cabinet member for neighbourhood services and transport is Cllr Peter King; cabinet member for social care and health, is Cllr Ben Gray; cabinet member for leisure, arts and culture, is Cllr Kathryn McCaffer; and cabinet member for legal, regulatory and planning services is Cllr Edward Williams.

Cllr Moore said: “I am very proud to lead an administration with a cabinet that is fully representative of the people of the Vale and which is both gender and geographically balanced.

“Our priorities are simple.

“We want to protect local people and services from the impact of austerity and ensure that no area of the Vale is left behind.

“While doing this we will strive to increase engagement with local people to ensure they have a real say in the future of their communities and the services the council delivers.”

New chairmen for four of the council’s five scrutiny committees were also appointed at the meeting.

Corporate performance and resources is Cllr Mark Wilson; environment and regeneration is Cllr Bronwen Brooks; healthy living and social care is Cllr Rachel Nugent-Finn; and learning and culture, is Cllr Gordon Kemp.

A chairman for the homes and safe communities scrutiny committee will be appointed at the next meeting of the committee.

A full list of chairmen and vice chairmen for the quasi-judicial committees and local authority champions will be published online at