AFTER having both the 1st and 2nd XI matches rained off on Saturday, Sully Centurions hosted Pentwyn in a rearranged Welsh Cup match on Sunday that was affected by a long delay for rain towards the end of the Pentwyn innings.

The visitors batted first and had reached 10 when Jake Griffett struck twice in the 5th over. First Tom Pascoe and then wicket keeper Ben Spear held onto catches to dismiss both openers. Nathan Cuddihy continued the excellent work with the wickets of Harries (LBW) and Beacham (brilliantly caught by Tom Davies) to leave Pentwyn on 28 for 4. Nick Jones chipped in with another wicket, bowling White for 15 before skipper Lloyd Bruce had Jones caught by James Haswell or a duck. But Hancock (46 not out) and Wall (29) put on 59 for the seventh wicket – giving Pentwyn some such needed stability. Haswell trapped Danniel LBW for 0 and Pavel took the wickets of Jones and Court to leave the score on 136 for 9 in the 38th over when the heavens opened and play was suspended. The last wicket also went to Pavel, coming only two balls after the resumption to leave Centurions with a target of 137.

Openers Pavel and Owain Sullivan started very well, Pavel surviving a first ball LBW appeal to reach 26 when he was bowled by Jones with the score on 39. Nick Jones went without troubling the scorers and Tom Davies also went for 0 and Centurions found themselves on 40 for 3 after 10 overs. Then a huge collapse saw wicket after wicket fall until the innings finally came to an end 71 in the 23rd over.

So, out of the cup but team spirit remains good and surely it is only a matter of time before the hard work begins to pay of for Centurions.

CENTURIONS 71 all out

PENTWYN 136 all out


1st XI v Ebbw Vale (Saturday, away – contact L Bruce for travel arrangements): L Bruce, B Callow, Pavel, T Edwards, B Spear, N Jones, J Griffett, Harris, O Sullivan, N Cuddihy, D Chalk.

2nd XI v Tondu (Saturday, Sully at noon): D W Sylvester, T Davies, T Pascoe, M Burnett, R Griffett, J Hayer, L Bennett, E Davies, L Pike, H Edwards, L Burnett, S Morse, P Harrison, A Bennett.

v Barry Wanderers (Sunday, Hayes Point, meet at the ground at 1pm): M Fisher, J Griffett, N Jones, L Bruce, T Pascoe, J T Sylvester, D Goodway, L Bruce, D Chalk, B Spear, T Edwards, Pavel, L Pike, T Davies, H Edwards.