Barry Town United awards

Barry Town United awards

Ryan Jenkins (left) and James Saddler present Mark Barrett of sponsor RIM Motors with a signed shirt

Injured striker TJ Nagi rises to his feet to collect his Goal of the Season award

Dean Saunders presents 30-goal Jordan Cotterill with the Golden Boot prize

Mike Cosslett inducted former team-mate Derek Redwood into the club's Hall of Fame

Midfielders Scott Jones (left) and Troy Greening enjoying Dean Saunders' stories

Tom Case was among a host of representatives from the senior and youth sides in attendance

First published in Sport

BARRY Town United capped an unforgettable season with a glittering Champions' Awards Gala at the St David's Hotel on Friday (June 6).

Former Liverpool, Aston Villa and Wales striker Dean Saunders entertained the near-200 attendees with a rip-roaring speech, with sharp-suited guests also treated to a musical performance from Back to November and parade of memories from the championship campaign on the big screen.

After captain James Saddler brought in the league trophy, the big winners on the night were striker Jordan Cotterill and full-back Paul Morgan, who each scooped a pair of awards for their efforts in 2013-14.

Cotterill, with 30 goals to his name since August, claimed the prestigious Golden Boot and was named RIM Motors/LDS Motor Factors Player of the Season for his superior tally of Man of the Match performances.

Morgan meanwhile was voted both the Young and Players' Player of the Season, putting the icing on the cake of a breakout year for the popular defender.

Centre-back Ryan Evans and namesake midfielder Ryan Dorrian won the Members' and Manager's Player of the Season honours respectively, while TJ Nagi's spectacular bicycle kick against Llantwit Major was voted Goal of the Season, fending off a strong short-list of contenders in the process.

Elsewhere, James Dixon collected the Edgar's Gift Champagne Moment prize for his brace against Cwmaman, which the Barry forward received from the charity's Neil and David Bradman.

Meanwhile, two new additions to the club's Hall of Fame were announced, with Barry manager Gavin Chesterfield recounting the achievements of Barry-born FA Cup winner Billy Jennings and coach Mike Cosslett inducting former team-mate Derek Redwood; the club's all-time record penalty taker.

Chesterfield and committee chair Eric Thomas would offer thanks to the club's volunteers, sponsors and friends, each of whom played a key role in supporting the loyal and talented playing squad.

Among their number, Matthew Case, Mark Barrett and Lyndon Smith, who were each presented with a signed shirt as a token of the club's appreciation.

With Friday evening proving a fitting finale to a truly special season, Barry, who have thrived under supporter-ownership, now look forward to the 2014-15 campaign; with next week's Barry and District News previewing all the summer friendlies ahead.

*Photos courtesy of

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree