THE Barry Comprehensive School’s annual presentation evening has celebrated academic success across the entire curriculum and also included awards for outstanding contributions, excellent attendance and sporting achievement.

BBC broadcaster Phil Steele, a former Newport rugby player and a former teacher, entertained and inspired as guest speaker and presented awards.

Mr Steele revealed to students and parents that his first televised broadcast came when he was 39 years old, highlighting how you had to keep working hard to get the rewards you want.

Joining Mr Steele were a host of special guests who return every year to award significant prizes to the students, many of them having given years of service to the school.

Head boy Samuel Thompson and head girl Lauren Collins gave an overview of the successes of the school. Again students are accessing the top universities to complete courses across Britain. One student will be attending Oxford University to study medicine.

As a school, Barry Comprehensive places great value on its close partnerships with the community and the presentation evening provides the opportunity to share and celebrate its success.

Among the award winners were: Christopher Neale (Masha Estates Award for maths), Connor Galsworthy (George Scott Award), Conor Ling (PTA Prize for Year 7), David Gent and Scott Nelson (Leslie Mathews Cup for outstanding commitment to the school), Dulovan Hughes (Anne Williams Shield), Harry Lambert (Chair of Governors’ Plate for outstanding attitude and effort), Thomas Jones (ICT Faculty student of the year), Ieuan Short (Major Edgar Jones Cup for contribution to the community and school life), Jake McInery (Mike Jones Athletics Cup), James Dodd (PTA Prize for Year 9), James Scott (Martyn Caton Memorial Prize for effort and commitment), Joe Bennett (Army Shield on behalf of the U18 basketball team), Joshua Barnett (John Carter Memorial Performing Arts Award), Llewellyn Cooper (Emrys Gwynne Award), Matthew Watkins (PTA Prize for Year 8), Oliver Bartlett (Evelyn Careless Award for greatest all round contribution to Lower School), James Scott (Physical Education Faculty student of the year), Rhys Powell (Ford Shield, Year 7 Rugby), Robert Boyt (PTA Prize for Year 10), Ross Merrills (PTA Prize for Year 11), Scott Griffith (John Wanser Thorne Prize), Sean Mayor (Jamie Adamson Award), Amin Ullah (Technology Faculty student of the year), Thomas Cosgrove (Headteacher’s Cup for academic excellence) and Thomas Jones (Colin Barnett Cup).